Go to Navigation Menu
 About Us  Calendar 
HomeConnectTransgender Day of Remembrance

Transgender Day of Remembrance

Since 1999, Transgender Day of Remembrance (November 20 annually) has been an important part of the life of transgender communities around the world.

New in 2013

In 2013, Transfaith is excited to announce the launch of a Transgender Day of Remembrance toolkit to resource faith communities and other Transgender Day of Remembrance organizers.

We are also excited to be part of the new TDOR Unite! coalition, which unites across lines of difference to provide virtual ways for all to connect and mutually support each other around Transgender Day of Remembrance.

Check out some highlights from this year:

You can also check out our 2012 offerings.

Recent Additions

Transgender Day of Remembrance (TDOR) Unite invites you to join us for an online Transgender Day of Remembrance observance Sunday, November 17. Our Lives Are Valuable!

The founder of the Transgender Day of Remembrance, Gwen Smith, reminds us what this day is about.

The names we read on Transgender Day of Remembrance are not statistics. They are lost loved ones. We gather here, not just to remember their deaths, but even more to honor their lives. Submit a tribute about your loved one.

Be a part of TDOR Unite by uniting to proclaim Our Lives Are Valuable! Submit a photo to TDORunite.tumblr.com and join the ranks of trans* community members who are taking power back this TDOR.

Courtney O'Donnell (a.k.a.'Lexie Cannes') details several of this year's Transgender Day of Remembrance related news stories.

Unite your community with TDOR Unite! by organizing a viewing gathering in your area!

Join TDOR Unite! artists and organizers for a discussion on Twitter on November 19, starting at 7pm Eastern / 6pm Central / 5pm Mountain / 4pm Pacific.

TDOR Unite! supports the Black Trans Advocacy's Black-OUT campaign. On November 20, turn your profile pictures (Facebook, Twitter, etc) black.

TDOR Unite! encourages you to visit the official Transgender Day of Remembrance website to find a local TDOR onservance near you on or around November 20.

J Mase III asks us to make sure our efforts at inclusion are not merely symbolic gestures.

TDOR Unite! supports the Transgender Day of Remembrance Toolkit, developed by Transfaith and the Transgender People of Color Coalition. Check it out for critical questions, prayers, and other planning support.

With gratitude for all those who are making this TDOR Unite! collaboration possible.

Chris Paige offers a few tips on finding the right tone for your Transgender Day of Remembrance observance.

J Mase III looks at trends in anti-transgender violence and how these realities might impact our organizing.


 
Toolkit
TDOR Unite!
2012
 


Get the latest news!